Let us fight with temptations

Try it out… Worth it!

By Br. Mugheera Luqman. Adapted from http://islamicbrothers.org/forum/threads/let-us-fight-with-temptations.178/

I was in my Hadith class when my teacher told us this story:

It was the time of the Migration, and the great clash arose between Muslims and Hindus. Many houses were burned, people got killed, families lost, women raped, children speared and a lot more. At this time of great terror, a young girl in her teens who belonged to a very rich family got separated from her family and had no place to hide. It was a dark night when she saw a Masjid and thought of taking refuge there. She entered into the Masjid and there she saw a room where a candle was lit. She saw a boy sitting there, a student of knowledge and in the dim light of the candle reading a book. She asked him if she could spend the night there. He allowed her and she sat in one of the dark corners of the small room staring at that boy while he was reading. Suddenly, she saw that boy moving his finger to the flame. He moved the finger into the flame, kept it there for a moment or two and when he felt that he cannot bear it anymore, he moved the finger and started reading once again. The girl sat there and saw him doing this all night within short intervals of time.
When the sun came out, her father and brothers came in the Masjid in search of her and found her safe there. Now before leaving, she came once again into that small room for paying her gratitude to the boy and asked him why did he keep on burning his finger the whole night which turned the tip black. He said in a low voice with his head down, “when you came at night and there was no one around, Satan got his chance and he started pushing my urges from the inside and I could not control my temptations for you and at that moment, I moved my finger to the fire which reminded me that if I can’t bear this pain for a single moment, how would I be able to bear the fire of Jahannam for eternity? Hence it burned my desires for a while. Whenever I was pushed from the inside, I did this in order to save myself from this act.”
She silently turned and went away safely with her family. Later when her parents finally decided that she is to be married, they asked her will. She said that she has only one man in her heart and that is the student who provided her the shelter in the worst night of her life. They went to that boy and asked him for his consent and he agreed and thus they were happily married.
When I remember this story, I remember one of the legends of Islam, Imam Ibn e Qayyam’s golden words:

وهذه سنة الله في عباده انه من ترك لأجله شيئا اعطاه الله او ذريته افضل منه (المنار المنيف ص 139)
“This is the Sunnah of Allah SWT that whoever leaves anything for Him, Allah Grants him or his descendants better than it.”

Have you ever left something just for Allah? Something you desired a lot and yet your Iman said ‘No’ I can’t, because my Allah did not allow me this? A woman or something else? Because if you did, then be happy, Allah will give you something in return which will be better than what you desired and if you did not, then I want you to try it out. Leave something which Allah doesn’t like and do it just for Allah and see what follows.

Wait a second… I remember one famous Hadith of the Prophet SAW, narrated by Imam Al Bukhaari – May Allah be pleased with him – in his Saheeh; a story of three men who were trapped in the cave and one of them supplicated:
“O’ Lord! You are aware that I have an extremely attractive cousin and that I was infatuated and obsessed with her. One day, finding her alone, I took hold of her and wanted to satisfy my carnal desires, when she spoke out to me saying: O’ My cousin! Fear Allah (SWT) and do not harm my chastity. Hearing this, I crushed my lustful tendencies and decided against the evil act. O’ Lord! If that deed of mine had been out of absolute sincerity and only for the purpose of acquiring Your pleasure, deliver us from grief and perdition.” Suddenly they witnessed that the huge boulder had moved away a little, faintly brightening up the interior of the cave.

I know my brother/sister in your heart, there is something, perhaps not a temptation for someone but might be something else which you don’t want anyone to know and you don’t like it either, but you can’t get rid of it. I want you to go to your room and talk to yourself and say it aloud to yourself, I’m leaving this for Allah and only for Allah, nothing else and He will help me in this. Do it and wait for the results.

وَمَن يَتَّقِ اللَّـهَ يَجْعَل لَّهُ مَخْرَجًا﴿2٢﴾وَيَرْزُقْهُ مِنْ حَيْثُ لَا يَحْتَسِبُ ۚوَمَن يَتَوَكَّلْ عَلَى اللَّـهِ فَهُوَ حَسْبُهُ ۚإِنَّ اللَّـهَ بَالِغُ أَمْرِهِ ۚقَدْ جَعَلَ اللَّـهُ لِكُلِّ شَيْءٍ قَدْرًا﴿٣الطلاق 3﴾
“And whoever fears Allah – He will make for him a way out (2) And will provide for him from where he does not expect. And whoever relies upon Allah – then He is sufficient for him. Indeed, Allah will accomplish His purpose. Allah has already set for everything a [decreed] extent. (3)”

May Allah help us out in such a times of worst trials! Ameen!

One thought on “Let us fight with temptations

Leave a Reply

