Deep in the trees…

I want you to stop for a moment and think, think about the person who observed the apple falling to the ground while he was sitting besides the tree. I am sure you all know his name; Newton. Imagine him sitting besides a long tree and an apple falling down and he watching all that and deriving some great laws of physics. Hey, wait a second. Mr. Scientist, I have a question….what in God‘s name was Newton doing sitting there under the tree………………?????

He was making an observation…duh…

The well-known “scientific method” suggest us a three-step technique to discover new things. (1) observe, (2) hypothesis and (3) confirm to discover new things.

See, the point is, it doesn’t matter what Newton was doing there but what matters is the lesson learnt. That is exactly what I am trying to stress. We are surrounded by trillions of small events and happenings, synchronizing with each other forming bigger events. In this modern-day, life is fast and digital making us dependent on what we are shown rather what we want to see. We need to slow down a little to feel things around us.

Similar is one of my observe-n-learn experience that happened with me in a cold morning of winter in my university campus. I am just walking down the beautiful passage going towards my class waiting for someone as I come across a tree….couple of feet high, easy to reach..you know, an average, useless, unnoticed tree. You all know, how does a tree look like with very less leaves and flowers in winter.

BLING!! “Whats that?” I asked myself. I realized there is a lot going on those twigs. My eyes started to widen when I saw hundreds of ants and all sorts of other insects driving on the roads of the tree. You’ll say, come on Zaki, is this why you wanted me to read your lousy blog? Come on…. and I say…that is exactly why I mentioned Newton in the start.

My eyes captured that little moment and instead of  a small image projection on my retina, the scene exploded like a gigantic wave of thoughts in my, now electro-magnetized, brain. My brain sensed a number of things.

Number one was harmony. Everyone recognized the absolute importance of working individually and in groups. They conformed to their own set of duties and were trying to finish them to the best of their abilities. Everybody recognized the NO_FIGHTING rule.

Number two was that everyone, unlike us, maintained a row. All were busy in taking food for their buddies and kids back at home. It seemed that everyone were mutually cooperating not just to fulfil their own goal but rather helping each other fulfilling the bigger goal i.e. collection of food to survive as a unique specie and thus, conforming to their very purpose of existence.

Every little one of them had knowledge why is it important to keep up peace with friends in themselves and in other species and realized that they could only survive by fulfilling their purpose of life.

On the other hand, I was in complete trance. The thoughts rumbled in my mind all day. At that point I completely realized the importance of observation in our lives, small and big. it is something which is learnt by practice….experience…and…interest. The more you observe, the more you learn and only a fine observer can tell which one is worth observing.

It doesn’t matter how small you observe. What matters is its implication and impact in your life. This practice left a great impact in my life. See around yourself, in your schools, campuses, workplaces, streets and playgrounds. See the trees around you. See the stones around you, the insects, the animals, the people around you. Try to find similar scenarios. Try to deduce results. Deduce and see for yourself what ripples does it produces in your personality.

After-all, you cannot complain and say,

“I didn’t get a chance”.
_________________________________________________________________

Click follow if you like. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Deep in the trees…

    • إِنَّ فِي خَلْقِ السَّمَاوَاتِ وَالْأَرْضِ وَاخْتِلَافِ اللَّيْلِ وَالنَّهَارِ لَآيَاتٍ لِّأُولِي الْأَلْبَابِ

      Verily! In the creation of the heavens and the earth, and in the alternation of night and day, there are indeed signs for men of understanding.

      [Quran 3:190]

Leave a Reply

